5 Melbourne Jewellery Labels to wear this instant!

Hi All,

Just wanted to share with you the latest article written by Style Melboure, the official blog for the L’Oreal Melbourne Fashion Festival! I am stoked to be featured alongside such amazing talent.. some of the best designers Melbourne has to offer.

To read the full article click here, or check out a sneak peek of my feature below:

5 Melbourne Jewellery Labels to wear this instant

By

If  ”the clothing maketh the man”, then surely I can argue that jewels maketh the woman? After all there’s none more womanly than Elizabeth Taylor and the lady had quite the penchant for the odd sparkler (all £74 million worth of them). Alas, my relatively meagre collection is not quite so grandiose. Yet in the spirit of appreciating the finer things, I wanted to showcase a few local jewellery labels that are either emerging or that may be flying somewhat under your radar. And hopefully introduce you to a few new keepsakes!

My latest discovery is Karlie Gartner, who fashions opulent pieces out of vintage and reclaimed materials in her own unique way. Can’t help but covet all of it.

Your aesthetic in 5 words or less?
Pushing the 5 word boundary here with a few joining words..”Old world glamour (with a) poetic twist”

Your most treasured piece?
A silver bangle I had made and engraved in Vietnam in 2005. I wear it everyday, so its been with me many places and seen many things.

What materials do you work with?
I work with vintage materials – old jewellery, rhinestones, feathers and lace. I love to breathe new life into forgotten treasures. My aim is to showcase the personality and the hidden story of past life and love that is preserved in each of the pieces I weave together to form my weathered creations.

Who would you love to see wearing your creations?
Kate Middleton – she’s stylish and graceful, yet young at heart!

Coco Chanel’s “take one thing off before you leave the house” vs. The Man Repeller’s “arm party”?
This is a tough question! I see the merit in Chanel’s thinking, but I’m more one to change my outfit to work with my accessories! I think it depends on my mood… one day I’ll be all about simple ladylike styling, the next i’ll be stacking bangles up to my armpits!

Other jewellers whose work you admire?
I love Tom Binns, Michelle Jank, Miriam Haskell and YSL’s Arty Collection.

Special projects?
I’m currently working on a collection of restyled vintage handbags, so keep an eye on my blog for further updates.

Leave a Reply

